Summernationals By the Numbers

A by-the-numbers review of the UMP DIRTcar Summernationals from June 14’s opener at Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway to the July 15 finale at Oakshade Raceway in Wauseon, Ohio (complete Summernationals coverage):

0: Finishes outside of the top 10 for third-time series champion Bobby Pierce.

1: Australian (Paul Stubber) to follow the tour on a full-time basis, the first in series history.

1: Co-sanctioned event with the World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series, a first for the World Racing Group tours. (Two such events were rained out in 2016 and one of 2017’s planned co-sanctioned events fell to rain, too).

2: First-time series tracks, Sycamore Speedway in Maple Park, Ill., and Plymouth (Ind.) Speedway. Thunderbird Raceway in Muskegon, Mich., was doomed by rain in its bid for its first series race.

2: First-time series winners, Tyler Erb and Kent Robinson. Erb also became the first Texan to win on the tour.

2: Michigan victories for Billy Moyer Jr., coming in a state where his series-leading father has never recorded a victory.

3: Series championships for Bobby Pierce, who clinched the title with three races remaining.

3: States in which Brandon Sheppard won a feature, the most of any driver. (His first three triumphs each came in different states).

4: Victories for Billy Moyer Jr., third most behind five-time winners Bobby Pierce and Brandon Sheppard.

4: Event rainouts on the tour originally set for 29 races.

5: Consecutive victories for Brandon Sheppard, the longest winning streak since Shannon Babb’s record streak of seven straight in 2011.

5: Fast qualifying awards to Bobby Pierce, most of any driver.

5: States that scored at least a single feature victory (Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Tennessee and Texas).

5: Top-five finishes in as many series appearances for Dennis Erb Jr., a two-time winner.

7: Drivers to compete in all 25 series events: Bobby Pierce, Billy Moyer Jr., Gordy Gundaker, Bob Gardner, Brent Larson, Dustin Nobbe and Paul Stubber.

7: Victories for the father-son duo of Billy Moyer and Billy Moyer Jr., with the younger Moyer earning one more than his father.

7:40: Time of day when the Late Model feature rolled onto the track at Plymouth (Ind.) Speedway.

8: Consecutive top-five points finishes for Ryan Unzicker, the longest active streak.

8: Times Billy Moyer has won the opening Summernationals event, including in 2017 at Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway.

9: Heat race victories for Billy Moyer, more than any other driver.

10: Drivers to win features, two more than last season.

11: Consecutive years that Billy Moyer has won at least one Summernationals event, the longest active streak.

12: Illinois drivers among the top 25 in series points.

12: Steak 'n Shake visits for Billy Moyer Jr., according to a tweet by the driver.

13: Consecutive years that an Illinois driver has won the tour championship.

15: Feature victories by drivers from the state of Illinois.

16: Drivers who scored at least a single runner-up finish.

16: Features won by drivers under the age of 30.

19: Features won among five current or former Summernationals champions.

19: Top-five finishes for Bobby Pierce, most of any driver.

20: Age of Bobby Pierce, the tour’s youngest winner.

20: Completed circuits of the 60-lap feature distance at Peoria (Ill.) Speedway when rain struck on June 17.

22: The smallest car count for series events at Plymouth Speedway and Kickapoo Speedway.

25: Series events completed with four races rained out.

27: Seasons in which Billy Moyer has won a Hell Tour race.

29: Originally scheduled events before rain doomed four of them.

31: Race series winless drought snapped by Shannon Babb with a Daugherty Speedway victory on June 18.

31: Years between Sycamore Speedway visits for Billy Moyer, the tour's June 16 winner.

31.5: Median car count, up one car from last year.

32: Unofficial seasons of Summernationals competition.

33.8: Average car count, 4.7 more per event than last year.

40: Final lap on which Dennis Erb Jr. overtook Tony Jackson Jr. at Tri-City Speedway on June 23.

47: Consecutive points events without requiring a series provisional for Bobby Pierce, stretching from July 5, 2015, until July 11, 2017.

59: The highest series car count for the first of two events at Oakshade Raceway and the highest car count on the tour in at least 10 seasons.

64.33: Points-per-race average over 24 full points races (one additional race rewarded show-up points only) for series champion Bobby Pierce.

76.45: Points-per-race average over seven series appearances for Brandon Sheppard.

96: All-time victory total for Billy Moyer, four shy of becoming the first driver with 100 victories.

265: Drivers who entered series events, 11 more than last year.

500: Starting purse dollars for each event.

851: Miles from his hometown of New Waverly, Texas, when Tyler Erb won at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, Ind.

1,040: Total number of feature laps completed by Bobby Pierce, the only driver to run every possible circuit.

1,554: Total points for champion Bobby Pierce, 242 more than runner-up Billy Moyer Jr.

3,653: Days between series victories for Mike Marlar, snapped at Farmer City (Ill.) Raceway on July 7 — exactly 10 years to the date from his last series triumph.

4,900: Dollars in lap money paid to Brandon Sheppard in addition to his $10,000 purse earnings at Fayette County Speedway in Brownstown, Ill.

5,000: Dollars in weekly points fund checks doled out by Petroff Towing, FK Rod Ends, U-Pic-A-Part, and the World Racing Group.

5,097: Days between Summernationals events at which both Scott Bloomquist and Billy Moyer were entered, ended with both drivers appearing at Plymouth (Ind.) Speedway on June 29.

10,000: Dollars collected by Kent Robinson for his victory in July 15's Oakshade Raceway finale, the richest winner's check of his career.

25,000: Championship dollars earned by Bobby Pierce for his third title.

30,000: Total dollars earned by champion Bobby Pierce for his five wins.

135,000: Total winner’s purse dollars handed out over 25 events.